ABBEY REIGNY, located on the town of Vermenton in Burgundy was founded in 1128 by Abbot Etienne de Toucy, the monk of Clairvaux and under the authority of St. Bernard. Located in an exceptional setting on the edge of the Cure, land of the Counts of Auxerre and Nevers, the abbey under the protection of Pope Eugene III in 1147 was very powerful and prosperous in the Middle Ages, she received up to 300 monks .
In 1370 the King of France, Charles V, put the abbey under his protection and a century later in 1493 Charles VIII made a Royale Foundation. Unfortunately the Hundred Years War, the Huguenots and the French Revolution were due to the beautiful building which nevertheless kept its prestigious past of interesting relics: the exceptional Cistercian dining hall of the fourteenth century (there are only three examples in France) with its elegant double bay nave, which still preserves its polychrome time, the hall and the monks’ dormitory which we visit the row of salons and dining room have been refurbished by monks in the eighteenth and beautifully furnished, the XVIII of the portal, a surprising dovecote seventeenth provided 3500 putlogs clay and two aerial ladders.
Demolished buildings can still guess the foundations thanks to the excavations that have uncovered the foundations of the second abbey church built under the direction of architect Claude Nicolas Ledoux in 1763 giving the initial scale of the abbey.
A first abbey, which there are only few remains was built from 1134.
Finally all the Cistercian hydraulic network was preserved with, which is unique, the pipeline from a source that brings water in the downstream and upstream park in the opposite direction of the Cure.